About gotty.uk/nobel-prize-winners

Category Selection

Selecting a Category (All, Physics, Medicine, Economics, Chemisty or Peace) changes the Country Selection Options to winners in that category (biggest winners first).

Who awards the Prizes?

When are the Prizes awarded?

Normally in early October each year since 1901. There were gaps during first and second World Wars. The first Economics Prize was awarded in 1968.

Some years the Economics Prize has been awarded to organisations (eg. the Red Cross). This website only includes awards to Individuals. (see Links below for a full list of Economics Prize Winners).


Website Requirements

Nobel Prize History

Alfred Nobel (21 October 1833 – 10 December 1896) was a Swedish chemist, engineer, inventor, businessman, and philanthropist.

In 1888, the death of his brother Ludvig caused several newspapers to publish obituaries of Alfred in error. One French newspaper published an obituary titled "Le marchand de la mort est mort" ("The merchant of death is dead"). Nobel read the obituary and was appalled at the idea that he would be remembered in this way. His decision to posthumously donate the majority of his wealth to found the Nobel Prize has been credited at least in part to him wanting to leave a behind a better legacy.

Nobel Prizes are awarded to those who, during the preceding year, have conferred the greatest benefit to humankind.

The original 5 categories are Physics, Chemistry, Physiology or Medicine, Literature and Peace. An Economics prize was added to these in 1968.

Close Window